Azerbaijan, Armenia and Uzbekistan elected to ECOSOC

Азербайджан, Армения и Узбекистан избраны в состав ЭКОСОС

ECOSOC meeting. Photo from the archive Azerbaijan, Armenia and Uzbekistan elected to ECOSOC UN

Elections to the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) were held in the UN General Assembly. Three countries – Armenia, Azerbaijan and Bosnia and Herzegovina – competed for two seats from Eastern Europe. As a result of the vote, Armenia and Azerbaijan joined ECOSOC. Each of these countries received 148 votes. 

Uzbekistan received 185 votes and will occupy one of the four vacant seats from the Asia-Pacific Group from January 1, 2025. 

The Economic and Social Council is the main body responsible for coordinating the economic and social activities of the United Nations and organizations within the UN system. ECOSOC is at the heart of the UN system’s efforts to advance all three dimensions of sustainable development – ​​economic, social and environmental.

The Council has 54 members who serve for three-year terms. Decisions in the Council are taken by a simple majority. Each member has one vote. 

The Council holds several short sessions each year to organize its work, often involving civil society representatives. In addition, the Economic and Social Council holds an annual four-week substantive session, which alternates between Geneva and New York in July.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *