UN Security Council: Russia vetoed the extension of the mandate of experts assisting the North Korea Sanctions Committee

Совбез ООН: Россия наложила вето на продление мандата экспертов, помогающих Комитету по санкциям в отношении КНДР

UN Security Council. Photo from the archive UN Security Council: Russia vetoed the extension of the mandate of experts assisting the North Korea Sanctions Committee Peace and Security

13 Security Council member countries voted to extend the mandate of the Group of Experts Assisting the Work of the Sanctions Committee on the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK), China abstained, and Russia voted against, blocking extension.

Speaking before the vote, Russia’s Permanent Representative to the UN Vasily Nebenzya accused the coalition of Western countries led by the United States of “an unprecedented policy to strangle Pyongyang.” According to him, it includes strict unilateral restrictions, aggressive propaganda and direct personal threats against the DPRK authorities.

After the vote, Deputy Permanent Representative of the United States to the United Nations Robert Wood stressed that today’s vote will allow North Korea to act with even greater impunity. “North Korea is jeopardizing global security through its development of long-range ballistic missiles and its efforts to evade sanctions,” he added.

Read also:

IAEA warns about development of North Korea’s nuclear program

The Permanent Representative of the Republic of Korea to the United Nations, Hwang Joon Kook, expressed concern that “Pyongyang is openly flouting the decisions of the Security Council and pursuing an increasingly dangerous and aggressive nuclear policy, in particular against the Republic of Korea.” “At this point, Russia seems more interested in rewarding North Korea for providing ammunition and ballistic missiles to fight the war in Ukraine,” he said.

China’s Deputy Permanent Representative to the UN, Geng Shuang, stated that the situation on the Korean Peninsula is characterized by continuing tension and growing confrontation, which does not meet anyone’s interests. China, the diplomat continued, is not interested in this, however, according to him, sanctions and growing pressure on Pyongyang will not help defuse the situation, but will only aggravate it further.

The Sanctions Committee is composed of all 15 members of the Security Council, and the Committee makes decisions by consensus. The current Chairman of the Committee for the period ending 31 December 2024 is Pascal Christine Beriswil from Switzerland. The two Vice-Chairs for 2024 are Japan and the Republic of Korea.

The work of the Committee was supported by the Group of Experts established pursuant to resolution 1874, adopted in 2009. Now the Group’s mandate will not be extended.

Speaking after the Security Council meeting, Permanent Representative of Switzerland Pascale Baryswil noted that “due to Russia’s veto, the Panel will not be able to continue its important work, including documenting sanctions violations.” [DPRK] regime.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *